Important information for tribal citizens in Texas impacted by Hurricane Harvey

Tribal citizens impacted by Hurrican Harvey:

Below please find information on the disaster declaration, the type of assistance available and how individuals can register for FEMA Assistance.

President Trump at the request of Governor Abbott declared a major disaster declaration for the state of Texas as a result of Hurricane Harvey, beginning on August 23, 2017, FEMA-DR-4332-DR-TX. This declaration makes federal assistance available to affected individuals and households.

As of today, individuals living within the following counties may be eligible for assistance under the Individual and Household Program:

Aransas, Bee, Brazoria, Goliad, Calhoun, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Jackson, Kleberg, Liberty, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, and Wharton.

You can register with FEMA the following ways:

  • Apply online at
  • Registering online is the quickest way to register for FEMA assistance since the event will last several days and the full scope of damages may not be evident until the storm has passed.
  • If you do not have access to the internet you may register by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY). If you use 711 relay or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362 directly. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

If an individual evacuated and have not yet returned to their home and have flood insurance, they need to file a flood insurance claim by contacting their insurance agent immediately.

Additional programs available:

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance benefits are available to those whose jobs were affected by Tropical Storm Harvey in Texas, specifically those who live or work in the counties included in the major disaster declaration. This may include people not normally eligible for unemployment benefits, such as self-employed persons and farm-workers.
  • Transitional Sheltering Assistance (TSA) has been approved in Texas for eligible disaster survivors who have a continuing need for shelter because they are unable to return to their homes for an extended period of time. To be eligible for TSA, you must be registered for FEMA disaster assistance.

This initiative is intended to provide short-term lodging for eligible disaster survivors whose communities are either uninhabitable or inaccessible due to disaster-related damage. FEMA will contact you if you are eligible for the program.

  • The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSA) has activated its Disaster Distress helpline. This toll-free, multilingual, crisis support service is available 24/7 via telephone (1-800-985-5990) and SMS (text ‘TalkWithUs’ to 66746) to survivors who are experiencing emotional distress.
This entry was posted in Tribal News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.